Southington school board results unknown

By Brenda Maguire

SOUTHINGTON — Elections officials did not have results for the Board of Education by late Tuesday night.

The board had seven of its nine members running for re-election this year.

Democrats up for re-election were David J. Derynoski, who has been on the board since 1991 and served as chairman for eight years, and Patricia P. Johnson, who has served seven terms on the board.

Republicans running for re-election included Brian Goralski, who has served eight years on the board, Terri Carmody, currently vice chairman of the board, and Patricia Queen, who was appointed to the board in November 2010. Colleen Clark and Jill Notar-Francesco have both served on the board for four years.

New Democratic candidates were Dee J. Ahern, a 1982 graduate of Southington High School, Anne M. Mullin, a bookkeeper for Professional Business Services and two local restaurants, Zaya G. Oshana, who has done work with the Planning and Zoning Commission and the Southington Democratic Town Committee, and Beverly Skinnon, an elementary school teacher in Southington for more than 25 years.

Terry Lombardi, who has taught as an adjunct professor at Central Connecticut State University, was also a Republican candidate.

The top nine vote-getters will serve a two-year term.

Link to Article

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: